IRLA YPG Committee

The Young Professionals Committee is made up of a group of younger people with a range of experience, skills and roles from within the legacy sector. Each committee member is involved in promoting the Associations benefits and making members, and non-members, aware of the career enhancing opportunities within the group. Members have gone on to win the Young Professional of the Year Award and/or become an IRLA board director amongst other things.

Full details of this groups activities can be found here

IRLA Ambassadors

photo of Thomas SpringTom Spring, immediate past YPG Deputy Chairman, is leading the 2023/24 Future Leaders Programme and mentoring/coaching team and he can be contacted here –

Photo of Sam Bignell
Sam Bignell
RiverStone International
Photo of Abigail Burgoine
Abigail Burgoine
Catalina Re
Photo of Richard Burrows
Richard Burrows
IRLA Director/YPG Chairman
Photo of Michelle Ho
Michelle Ho
Zurich Insurance
Photo of Louis  Isaacson
Louis Isaacson
Photo of Rosie Knott
Rosie Knott
Photo of Alex Lanes
Alex Lanes
Photo of Nicole Law
Nicole Law
YPG Deputy Chairman/FTI Consulting
Photo of Alpesh Patel
Alpesh Patel
Enstar Group
Photo of Joe Pearce
Joe Pearce
Photo of Linh Pham
Linh Pham
Nat West
Photo of Ali Robson
Ali Robson
IRLA Ambassadors/E&Y LLP
Photo of Ben Shilling
Ben Shilling
Compre Group

Working for You

We all lead busy lives but we are lucky to have the YPG Committee, with support from their employers, giving up time to work with the Association in considering all of the benefits and opportunities that we can possibly offer to members, especially those just starting their career or those who are changing career. Below you will see one example of the legacy textbook, but we also offer free professional training - ondemand and live -mentoring, speaking and hosting opportunities, discounts across a range of our products and of course social events.

Check out the Future Leaders Programme details...

Amy Berry, PwC and Dan Cordina, McGill & Partners -
both previous heads of YPG Group.

The IRLA Handbook

This handbook has been developed by IRLA as an introductory guide to the aims of the Association, the purpose and reasons for (re)insurance business transfers and the mechanisms and services that support them. The handbook also provides a precis of business operations, company finances, legal first principles and other matters of topical interest in the early 2020’s. It should be considered both a practical resource and a point of reference for those interested in the operation of the legacy market.

Each chapter is intended to give a precis of the matter at hand with suitable references for further research. The author and company of each of our contributions is stated and all have expressed a willingness, as members of IRLA, to take enquiries regarding their specialism, in support of our ambition to educate our members and strengthen our bonds as a market.

The handbook will be updated periodically to ensure that the material remains up to date and that all our members have the opportunity to contribute their particular expertise within it.

Copies are available to purchase at

Young Professional of the year

This award was introduced to recognise a young professional employed in the legacy market who has been:

  • Achieving outstanding business outcomes
  • Recognised for outstanding customer/client service
  • A one to watch for future leadership

This award is not just about contribution to the profits or prestige of an employer, but also having an external awareness of the sector from both a personal development and professional attitude in all of their business dealings.

For all other previous years winners
Previous IRLA YPG Chairman, Dan Cordina of McGill & Partnersawarding Richard Burrows the 2023 Future Leaders trophy at Congress 2023.
2022-23 Nicola Gaisford, RiverStone(then RQIH) winning the Young Professionalof the Year Award 2022.
Victor Nelligan, AON (then PwC LLP) wining the Young Professional of the Year Award 2017/18.
Adam Horridge, now an IRLA Director, of Swiss Re was awarded the Young Professional of the Year Award 2016 by Jenny Fair, IRLA Director for his successful actions taken during his term as YPG Chairman.